Holy Spirit Church Margao
This church lies at the site of the original Shree Damodar temple that was destroyed by the Portuguese and the deity was moved to Zambaulim. The church was built here in 1565 and soon after was destroyed and the present building was constructed in 1675. Today it stands as one of the finest examples of the Indian Baroque style and period of church building. The outer facade consists of towers on either side with a central dome structure. The church has a beautiful interior replete with a pipe organ. The heavily decorated altars inside are dedicated to St. Peter and St. Michael.
The Muslim army soldier however demolished the newly constructed church and later it was rebuilt and destroyed on several occasions. Finally since 1675 the current structure that was erected has endured.
The church can be entered from the side entrance to the north. The elaborately carved interiors are splendid from ground to ceiling. The feast day of the church is on June 10. In the church the huge cross dates from the late 17th century.
Many Old Portuguese mansions are built in front of the church around a square called Church Square or Largo de Igrega. Before modern construction spread southward this area was the center of the town and comprises of Margao’s Latin Quarter